Rich’s Cider Dunkerton’s 2013

It’s time to try some proper English cider!Rich'S Cider Golden Years Dunkerton's vintage 2013.jpgCompany: Rich’s Cider
Place of Origin: Highbridge, Somerset, UK
Apples: single variety – Dunkerton
Sweetness: medium
ABV: 6.0%
Package type: 500ml clear bottle with crown cork
Recommended type of glass: pint glass, white wine glass or snifter
Note: Matured in oak vat

Appearance: clear, golden yellow with almost no head. Very soft, light carbonation.

Aroma/Nose: you can immediately tell that this cider was maturated in oak vats. Absolutely beautiful aroma of vanilla, wood notes, ripe apples and skins. You can also smell a bit of dryness. I wish I could have an air freshener in my car smelling like this :-). Wow!

Taste: the first taste is woody oak and some kind harsh, intense taste probably coming from the alcohol, then apple notes of skin and flesh take over along with a sweet taste. This cider has a medium body. I would describe it as medium sweet. Interestingly, there is almost no acidity and no bitter taste. I can taste only a minor astringent taste coming from tannins.

Overall: Wow, this cider is really nice! I wish I could experience this with each cider I review. Rich’s cider has pleasant whisky notes coming from oak vats. Delicious, although in the beginning, it was too sweet for me but somehow with every sip the sweet taste developed into a pure pleasure. A lot of vanilla. It is like drinking a nicely balanced mild whisky such as Glen Morangie and cider in one. Not to confuse with calvados. For cider whisky and lovers a must! Very nice cider. 5/6

Availability: I am afraid only in the UK only 

Price: came with a craft cider subscription from Orchard Box.

