Thatchers Green Goblin

Thatchers Cider is a mainstream cider brand from Somerset, England producing every year over 1 million liters of cider. Can it still taste good? Thatchers Green Goblin is part of the Thatchers Collection range.

Green Goblin.jpg

Company: Thatchers Cider
Region of Origin: Somerset, Winscombe, England
Apples: a blend of bittersweet apples such as Dabinett and Somerset Redstreak
Sweetness as per label: medium dry
ABV: 5%
Package type: 500ml amber glass bottle with crown cork
Recommended type of glass: pint glass
Note: many reviews concern cider with 6% aged in oak vats.  The cider I am currently tasting seems to be a different version of the Green Goblin.

Appearance: pours a clear, deep golden body, almost amber body with a light head, which quickly disappears. Soft carbonation.

Aroma/Nose: fresh apples, a bit funky difficult to describe sulphuric (?) notes, which remind me rather of the smell of matches and consequently bad cider, slightly sour and woody.

Taste: the first taste I sense is quite sweet almost caramel or palm sugar like. I can also taste sweet and fresh apples. The finish is slightly tart and refreshing, nearly green apple like. There are also dry notes typical for white sparkling wines. I can taste some astringency and absolutely no bitter taste. However, with every sip I take the taste develops so the tannins come out of the shadow giving slightly bitter and more intense (but still mild) astringency. Drinkable.

Overall: It is one of the mainstream ciders available across the UK so you can imagine that I was not convinced in the beginning. However, I must admit that Green Goblin was refreshing, well balanced, too sweet again to my palate (I am difficult to please in that sense) but drinkable. I wouldn’t mind ordering it at the next opportunity. But there are so many ciders just waiting to be explored so it will take a while until I’ll drink Green Goblin again. Overall, not bad for a mainstream cider. 3.5/6

Availability: Literally everywhere in the UK. For the mainland Europe check your shops selling English products. I am sure it will be there among other ciders from Thatchers.

Price: bought online from Cider & more at 2.99 EUR.

