Etienne Dupont Organic Cidre Bouche Brut 2011

I don’t believe there is a single cider enthusiast who has never tried or at least heard of ciders from Domaine Dupont. Hence, I don’t think they need any introduction.Cidre Bouche Organic Dupont.jpgCompany: CALVADOS DUPONT Domaine Familial Louis Dupont 
Place of Origin: Victot-Pontfol, Normandy, France
Apples: from at least 13 varieties of French organic bittersweet apples (70%) and acid apples (30%) picked at full maturity
Sweetness as per label: brut
ABV: 4.5%
Package type: 750ml champagne corked bottle
Recommended type of glass: pint glass, flute or traditional bolee
Note: unfiltered and unpasteurized

Appearance: pours a cloudy, golden yellow with a huge frothy head, which quickly reduces leaving a thin ring around the glass. Carbonation is high – mousseux type and long lasting. Some sediment at the bottom of the bottle. Body is medium.

Aroma/Nose: the moment I opened the bottle, without even pouring anything into the glass, I could smell a strong aroma of beeswax, leather, barnyard, brett and sweet, acidic, ripe and fermenting apples. More distant notes on the nose have pears, apricot with even more distant smoky, vanilla and wooden touch. Absolutely amazing!

Taste: I don’t know where to start! This cidre is really mind blowing! It begins with a pleasant medium apple sweetness and light tart apple with a light lemon-like taste. On the medium palate, there are moderate bitter notes with apple seeds, ripe apple flesh and skins with a leather touch. The finish is dry and extremely long with lingering overripe apples with beeswax, light bitterness and crispy apple. There are also distant smoky, and vanilla hints just like in the aroma. Slight astringency with a spicy touch on the tongue.

Overall: This is one of the most complex and extraordinary ciders I have ever tried. No wonder it is considered premium cider. Bouche is very well blended with funky notes that I am a huge fan of. Briefly, I loved it! It could be a bit less sweet to my palate but I truly enjoyed it anyway. I would and definitely will drink it again. 5.5/6

Availability: broad. I would recommend checking wine shops selling premium wines.

Price: bought online from wineandwaters.de at 6.5 EUR.

