Where to drink/buy cider in Vienna?

I didn’t spend enough time in Vienna to properly explore the city in terms of cider. But, I will share with you two bars, where you can find real cider.
img_6894Bars/Pubs

They usually have three ciders on tap, but in the summer they reduce the number of ciders available on tap to only one. I think that it’s rather strange as I would assume, that cider is more popular in the summer time? What else can cool you better than a glass of lightly chilled cider? As for cider available here, you can purchase the local Big Arlet from Gusswerk Brauerei. No bottled cider here. Also, they serve food here. I can recommend their pastrami. Delicious!

Mel’s is located in the centre of Vienna so if you are doing sightseeing here you will sooner or later pass by this bar. Mel’s is actually an American craft beer bar with a quite impressive selection of English cider. At least impressive for this part of Europe. Ciders available on tap feature Aspall Cyder, Westons Rosie’s Pig and Old Banger, price wise 0,25L €2.90 / 0,46L €4.80. In bottles, they offer ciders from Oliver’s Cider & Perry and Cornish Orchards. See below for Mel’s cider list. Sadly, you will not find Austrian cider here. Also, they serve food here if you are hungry, but I haven’t had the chance to try it.If there are more cider spots in Vienna worth mentioning, just drop me a line! I would be happy to update my post.

