Sigr z Jabka Polosuchy

Sigr z Jabka Polosuchy is one of the ciders that I sampled during Slavnost Cideru 2017, a Cider Festival held in Prague. I must say that Sigr was one of a few ciders I really enjoyed at this event. I wanted to have their cider again on Sunday (the last day of the festival), but they have already left leaving me with plenty of questions about them and their cider. Therefore, all I was able to find about them is that Sigr was founded only in 2016 in Jablonec nad Nisou, The Czech Republic.

Company: Sigr z jabka
Place of Origin: Jablonec nad Nisou, The Czech Republic
Apples: unknown
Sweetness as per label: semi-dry
ABV: 6%
Package type: draught
Recommended type of glass: pint glass

Appearance: pours a clear pale golden with no head. Lightly carbonated.

Aroma/Nose: on the nose gentle vinegary flavour with funky notes of barnyard, leather and beeswax. Also, some red apples and fermented apples.

Taste: it starts slightly sweet with low to medium acetic-acidity and a solvent-like taste. On the mid-palate fermented apples with both green and red apples. Also, notes of barnyard, beeswax and leather perceivable. The finish is dry with gentle astringent and slightly bitter notes.

Overall: Sigr z Jabka polosuchy is a very drinkable and decent cider. It’s complex, only slightly sweet and despite funky and solvent-like flavours very smooth. Hence, it should appeal to almost everyone. As mentioned earlier, one of my favourites at the festival. My friend, who I shared Sigr with, was also delighted. Definitely worth a purchase! On a side note, I hope that I don’t have to wait another year for the next edition of Slavnost Cideru to drink Sigr again. 4.5/6 

Availability: online from Opily jabko. Every now and then available at InCider Bar in Prague. Also in La Kavarna and Q Burger in Jablonec nad Nisou.

Price: had it at Slavnost Cideru 2017, a cider festival in Prague (0.2L at 25 CZK – 1 EUR)

One thought on “Sigr z Jabka Polosuchy

Comments are closed.