SeaCider Medium Dry

Mark Francis is a former brewer from Brighton, Sussex, UK, who went to the cider side. What made him switch to cider? Abandoned apple orchards with apple trees covered with apples that he would pass on the way to pubs in the Sussex countryside with his beer delivery. And, no local cider in Sussex pubs. So together with Matt Billing he founded SeaCider, which is now one of the largest cider producers in Sussex.

Company: SeaCider

Place of Origin: Ditchling, Hassocks, Sussex, UK
Apples: Gala and Bramley among others
Sweetness as per label: medium dry
ABV: 5.8%
Package type: 500ml clear glass with crown cap

Recommended type of glass: pint glass or white wine glass

Appearance: pours a cloudy golden with no foam. No visible carbonation. Body is low.

Aroma/Nose: the nose is sweet and fruity with notes of yellow apples, raspberry, strawberry and honey.

Taste: it begins very sweet, far sweeter than advertised medium dry. Also, I can’t get any acidity able to balance the sweetness. On the mid-palate notes of raspberry, strawberry, yellow apples with a light astringent taste. The aftertaste has a faint acidic touch with notes of crisp yellow apples and a distant bitter taste.

Overall: the taste of SeaCider’s Medium Dry is similar to an apple juice, not cider. It’s very sweet and nicely fruity with some depth. It doesn’t taste too bad, but the lingering sweetness is extremely tiring. Especially for those preferring dry cider like me. SeaCider’s Medium Dry is an okey-ish and drinkable cider, but not great. I wouldn’t buy it again as for me it’s simply too sweet. But it is a good offering for an average consumer who likes hers/his cider on the sweeter cider and is looking for a tipple made from real fruit, not concentrate. 3/6

Availability: only in the UK. Mainly in Sussex. Online through Fetch the Drinks.
 
Price: paid 4.90 GBP for a pint in The Grapes in Liverpool (not to confuse with the Beatles pub).

3 thoughts on “SeaCider Medium Dry

  1. Your comments are so in-depth and I really enjoy your insight. I recently tried the sea cider too and enjoyed it as something different from the typical sweets I encounter. It’s fruitiness was more complex. Have you got a favourite dry you can recommend? I also lean towards a dry, though I am trying to give sweet a fair shot.
    Gemma

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Gemma! Thanks! That is very motivating! As for my favourite dry I think I can name two, the Old Harry Rocks from Dorset Nectar and the Farmhouse from Ramborn. Both available in the UK. In terms of sweet, try the Dark Raven from Beard & Sabre! It’s the dream! Let me know how you liked them! 🙂 Cheers!

      Like

      1. Well I look forward to trying all of those at some point. I’ll add them onto my list to find! Have a good one. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.