Hoxton Cidersmiths Michelin & Brown’s

It is not uncommon that a new business starts because someone is not satisfied with products currently on the market. This is how Hoxton Cidersmiths was founded. Will Austin and Phillip Warren are two school friends, who complained a lot about the taste of cider they had in various London pubs (I can totally relate to this) and after a longer while decided to make an ‘interesting cider’, as they call it, themselves.Company: Hoxton Cidersmiths 
Place of Origin: 
London, UK
Apples:
a blend of Michelin and Brown’s and other apple varieties
ABV:
 4.5%
Package type:
500ml amber glass bottle with crown cap
Recommended type of glass:
pint glass, snifter or white wine glass

Appearance: pours a clear golden/ pale amber with no head. The fizz is short-lived and I think it’s artificial. The body is light.

Aroma/Nose: smells of red apple skins, sweet and tart red apple flesh with notes of caramel and still fermenting apples. Also, distant funky notes with barnyard and beeswax.

Taste: It starts with low to moderate sweetness and watery taste with moderate acidity. The mid-palate is tart with a light smoky note of ham with fruity flavours of red berries, especially strawberries. Additionally, I can taste notes of red apples and distant funky notes. The finish is dry with a lingering flavour of tart apples and slightly sour berries. No bitter notes.

Overall: The Michelin and Brown’s is a refreshing and easy drinking cider, but still complex and nicely balanced. Interestingly, I didn’t find the watery flavour disturbing in this cider. On the contrary, I quite enjoyed it. Moreover, refreshing flavours of red fruits and other berries make it a great thirst quencher. Guys, you made it. Your cider is indeed ‘interesting’. I enjoyed the Michelin & Brown’s and I’m looking forward to having it again on a hot summer day. 4.5/6 

Availability: Most UK retailers, who had Hoxton Cidersmiths’ cider on offer, are out of stock. At the moment, the only cider shop, known to me, stocking Hoxton Cidersmith’s cider is Ciderlab.

Price: purchased online from Ciderlab at 4.67 EUR.

6 thoughts on “Hoxton Cidersmiths Michelin & Brown’s

  1. Ok so another cider I had last weekend was Hoxton Cidersmith’s Sixpointsix, quite a pleasant quaff (from Booth’s supermarket). Haven’t seen the Michelin & Brown and as it’s not currently mentioned on their website, possibly won’t, but their Bristol Draught is currently at one of my locals as part of their cider festival! Love your very articulate cider notes, it’s like I’m having a taste myself. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It was my first time drinking their cider. I still have a bottle of their Harry Masters Jersey to try. Another one that I can purchase through Ciderlab is the Sixpointsix. Let me know your thoughts about the Bristol Draught, if you try it. And, I am glad to hear that you like my tasting notes 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So just this evening I’ve discovered more bits on WordPress that I’d somehow previously missed! I didn’t get to try the Bristol Draught, too busy trying others, then never went back on the final night due to inclement weather, i.e. it was chucking it down! Have you tried the Harry Masters Jersey yet? I tried it some time ago, seem to recall it was ok, not bad but not a must have that one again either.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think you will find that Hoxtons is just a marketing thing – they don’t make cider – just get it made and stick a label on it – just a way of making money out of gullible hipsters. Not bad stuff – but far better real ciders out there than this that are actually made in small batches by cider makers not in a factory to order.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.